Turning off motherboard RGB after shutdown/RGB control on Masterbox TD500

sean16

Bronze Level Poster
Hi there.

Yesterday I received my new PC but after shutting down and turning out the lights to go to bed realised that the RGB was still on inside. I have an ASUS Rog Strix B550-F and have had iCUE set up and preinstalled for me, though there doesn't seem to be an option to turn it off after shutdown. I noticed the RGB on the motherboard and RAM sticks remained on after putting it into sleep mode too.

I had a look online and people have recommended to change some settings in the BIOS but before I do I want to make sure there isn't an easier way through iCUE first. There are options specifically for shutdown in ASUS' own Armoury Crate program but I don't seem to have this installed and I'm not sure if by installing it it'll conflict with iCUE.

I'm also having a slight issue with the RGB on the front case fans themselves. I have a CoolerMaster Masterbox TD500 with 3 preinstalled front fans but I'm not entirely sure how to actually change these. I don't seem to have an RGB controller on the inside of my PC and the only devices connected through iCUE are the motherboard, CPU cooler and RAM. They're set on a loop which is fine but sometimes the colour will get stuck or not light up at all. I just want to make sure that they're working okay.

My specs are:
  • Case: COOLERMASTER MASTERBOX TD500 MESH ARGB GAMING CASE
  • Processor (CPU): AMD Ryzen 7 5800X3D Eight Core CPU (3.4GHz-4.5GHz/100MB CACHE/AM4)
  • Motherboard: ASUS® ROG STRIX B550-F GAMING (DDR4, USB 3.2, 6Gb/s) - ARGB Ready!
  • Memory (RAM): 32GB Corsair VENGEANCE RGB PRO DDR4 3600MHz (2 x 16GB)
  • Graphics Card: 10GB NVIDIA GEFORCE RTX 3080 - HDMI, DP, LHR
  • 1st M.2 SSD Drive: 500GB SAMSUNG 980 PRO M.2, PCIe NVMe (up to 6900MB/R, 5000MB/W)
  • 2nd M.2 SSD Drive: 2TB SAMSUNG 980 PRO M.2, PCIe NVMe (up to 7000MB/R, 5000MB/W)
  • Power Supply: CORSAIR 1000W RMx SERIES™ - MODULAR 80 PLUS GOLD, ULTRA QUIET