Thinking of getting a bike? Anyone have experience?

Grimezy

Prolific Poster
I've been driving for 2 years now, my insurance on my Punto is now going to be relatively cheap at the renewal price of £475 and I have no real issues being able to afford it anymore as my job is a fairly good salary for a 20 year old. The thing is I've been looked for a new car for about a year now and I've been through every option possible, i.e, finding a slightly better banger for £1000-£1500, getting a £5k loan over 2 years, getting a new car on 0% finance. Basically nothing's working.

I split up with my long distance girlfriend about a month ago so I don't really have much need to travel up and down the motorway fortnightly which has relieved some of the pressure of upgrading. I'm still going to need something in the near future as my punto is a bit shaky in windy weather and it's a bit of a wrestle but it'll do for now. I'm also still considering going back to college/uni so don't want to make any long-term commitments with finance or anything.

So basically I've been looking into bikes, my commute to work is 5 miles each way, mostly down normal 60mph A and B roads although the last mile or so is down thin 30mph country lanes. I'm quite frequently having to force myself into bushes to avoid tractors/lorries which isn't a problem in my Punto but if I do get a newer car then I'm going to be a lot more conscious about it. I'm thinking a bike could be a ideal and I really don't think I'll come across many 'bike-killers' on my daily commute.

So my questions are:

1) Does anybody here ride? Do you recommend it?
2) Is the insurance/tax/petrol much cheaper than a car?
3) Is it really as dangerous as they say? I've read that the sensation of speed is much greater, etc.. And I assume it's only really as dangerous as you make it yourself? If you're weaving in and out of traffic at 90mph then what do you expect?